• Somarie
    Hi Everyone! This is my first post! I’ve been wearing wiglets for over 3 years now and still feel somewhat self conscious. One of the main issues is the “high” level of shine. But I decided to do synthetic and not sure what other good choices are out there other than spending a ton of money. Also, more times than not, the end of the piece shows no matter how I try to style it. I don’t want to give up!! Another big issue for me, I have a small head. Has anyone tried a child’s hairpiece and did it make a difference?? I know , more questions than I planned on asking! Thank you and so glad I found this site!
  • mcvoice
    I can't answer all your questions but I'll try about the first one with regard to shine. There are a few simple, tried and true suggestions that many have used successfully. One is dry shampoo - you can spray your synthetic wig with dry shampoo - and now they make them to compliment the color such as blondes and browns. This will bring down the shine. If it's a lite color wig you can use Talc powder or if it's a shorter wig you can even use the puff from your powered and coat the fibers with the puff. I've seen other suggestions for making a COLD water bath with some baking soda and that will take down the shine. There's a lovely lady named Taz (you can find her on youtube under Tazswigcloset) and she just did a video about this very issue and how to (easily) solve it.
  • Somarie
    Great ideas! Thanks so much. I’ll take a look at the YouTube video!
  • MarthaG

You might want to consider a human hair top closure. They come in many colors and hair textures. I'm not sure how they attach, because I wear full wigs, so may not be what you want.

There are quite a few different cap styles too
  • Somarie