• FrenchieMom
    Can anyone suggest wig(s) best suited for Florida weather. I am brand new to wigs; so new that I have yet to purchase one! I have thin, fine hair and will be chopping it off pretty darn short when I find something I like. Thanks so much for input!
  • Tav
    I go through the same issues in Louisiana. I pulled a wig out yesterday and although a short wig, it wasn't ventilated well. I grabbed another and it was hot as well. I was starting to run late, so I grabbed my Gabor Sweet Talk and told myself I might as well be happy about it. I've been wearing wigs over two years, so I've adapted to the feel of them. I don't seem to have much trouble with Jon Renau's January or Ellen Wille's Night which looks nothing like the picture. I don't understand why they insist on making some wigs so ugly on the web sites.

It will take some adapting, but if you can hold off until the temperatures drop a little. Once you've acclimated yourself to wearing wigs, you'll feel more comfortable with them on in the heat. I hope I've helped some, good luck!
  • dc21
    Human Hair wigs react to humidity and can become bushy or frizzy in high humid weather. Florida has high humidity. Synthetic hair doesn't have those issues with humidity. Longer, synthetic styles will bunch at the nape with heat and friction. So if you are active, you may want to pin the hair up or wear shorter styles above the shoulders. Have you considered toppers? Toppers would definitely be cooler than a full wig. If you decide on human hair, I would definitely have a synthetic for backup for certain activities to abuse like sports, chores, etc. Human hair will also oxidize in the sunlight and eventually have to be recolored, whereas synthetic hair doesn't.