• baldie93
    Hello everyone ,

I am a 27 yo male. I started losing my hair at 17 and now a decade later all I can really do with it is shave it down because it is so thin. I have always wondered if as a male I could get away with a wig. They always looked so cool!

I guess as I have grown older I have gained more confidence (meeting my husband certainly helped). I asked him what he thought of a wig and he didn't care either way, he told me to go for it if I wanted to. He is pretty cool.

I just am nervous about what everyone's reactions will be at work. I am a nurse. and to go from bald to suddenly a wig must be a surprise!

So how did you all get over that nervousness and was there times that you thought, maybe I should not?

Thank you.
  • HairLove
    @baldie93 What a great choice...very cool indeed! Methinks your husband may have to start worrying about competition w/you in that new hair! Honestly, tho, doesn’t it feel great to have a supportive spouse—esp when it comes to something this personally consequential? Re: work : I’ve noticed there are some physicians on this site that have dealt w/the same issue..successfully :) I’ll bet they’ll chime in and help soon. However, having read back over posts regarding ‘first time’ nerves, here are some quotes I personally noted...@Happy to ve Retired “If someone looks good - either with or without a wig - I say you look good!...A wig actually does make you look better...Everyone is more obsessed with themselves than my hair..” @Larry “Those who love you aren’t going to care and new people will feel more comfortable around you when they see you are comfortable wearing your wig” (here!here!) I realise it’s much easier said than done but what Larry said is so true. You’re right. It’s going to be a dramatic change—but if you can possibly think of your new hair as an accessory (also noted by @Lostfrog) then you may even give others the courage to make the move to fun faux hair themselves!:heart:
  • Tav